Volvo Buses


Unique Efforts honoured at the 5th Edition of Volvo Sustainable Mobility Awards

Volvo Buses recognises initiatives in Cloud-based Technology, Traffic Management, Prevention of Drunken Driving and BRT The winners of the 5th Edition of the Volvo Sustainable Mobility Awards were announced in New Delhi at the Volvo Nobel Memorial Seminar 2015. The recipients showcased their initiatives addressing issues like software solutions encouraging shared mobility options; city planning focused on traffic management & pedestrian safety; addressing the social practice of opium consumption leading to road accidents; and Bus Rapid Transport (BRT) systems aimed at making public transport an attractive option.
Unique Efforts honoured at the 5th Edition of Volvo Sustainable Mobility Awards
Mr. Ashwin Mahesh of Mapunity receiving the winners trophy and certificate from H.E. Mr. Harald, Sandberg, Ambassador of Sweden to India and Mr. Akash Passey, Senior Vice President – Regional International, Volvo Bus Corporation







Instituted in 2011 by Volvo Buses India, the Volvo Sustainable Mobility Awards aim to recognise outstanding efforts in the broad area of sustainable mobility. In its 5th year, participations came in from the metros & tier 1 cities to tier 3 cities. The topics ranged from traffic planning, to BRT systems to Road Safety to Public Health. The Volvo Sustainable Mobility Awards carries a total cash prize of INR 12 lacs.

VRV Sriprasad, Managing Director, Volvo Buses India said, “The Volvo Sustainable Mobility Awards has gained momentum since it was instituted in 2011. In its 5th Season, the awards have reached a threshold beyond which we see this becoming only bigger and better in future. This year’s submissions are not just about the solutions or ideas presented, but also about the urgency with which stakeholders are working to create better cities. At Volvo Buses, we are driven by our promise of Driving Quality of Life and the initiatives from many stakeholders reflect this essence. I congratulate all the winners for their exemplary work and urge them to continue with their efforts to make a difference.” 

Winners of 2015 – Leading by Example
The winner of the Volvo Sustainable Mobility Awards 2015 was Mapunity for its project ‘BusCloud’. The primary objective of the project was to develop and deploy cloud-hosted software technologies and tools to enable efficient operations of public bus services across the country. 

The Center for Green Mobility in partnership with the Ahmedabad Traffic Police received the first runner-up award. Their initiative ‘The Crosswalk Lab’ aims at improving traffic management on city roads and pedestrian safety at junctions.

was adjudged second runner-up for their project ‘Advocacy against drunk- driving’. The objective of the initiative was to reduce road accidents occurring due to driving under the influence of poppy – a drug which drivers of commercial vehicles consume in order to stay alert. This project also worked as a social awareness programme to prevent the practice of consuming poppy.

The jury also conferred Special Recognitions for outstanding contribution to Sustainable Mobility. These were given to Rainbow BRT, Pune and IBUS BRTS, Indore respectively.

The ‘Rainbow BRT’ is a joint initiative by the Pune Mahanagar Parivahan Mahamandal Ltd, Pimpri-Chinchwad Municipal Corporation, Pune Municipal Corporation and Institute for Transportation and Development Policy. It aims to reduce the reliance on personal motorized vehicles for people’s daily commute by offering a true Mass Rapid Transit system that provides high quality, rapid, predictable and reliable, safe and attractive public transport to the masses. 

Atal Indore City Transport Services’ (AICTSL)
IBUS BRTS Indore was set up in 2006, with the aim to regulate and monitor public transport services in Indore. By employing an innovative PPP model, AICTSL started city bus services and presently has about 100 city buses that cater to about 100,000 passengers per day; which is approximately 4% of the total trips.

The entries were assessed by a jury consisting of subject matter experts from diverse areas. The jury members for the Volvo Sustainable Mobility Award 2015 were Prof. Geetam Tiwari MoUD Chair & Professor for Transport Planning at the Department of Civil Engineering, and Coordinator TRIPP, Indian Institute of Technology Delhi; Mr. Amit Bhatt, Strategy Head - Integrated Urban Transport, EMBARQ India; Mr. Vinay Rao, Independent Advisor on Climate Change and Sustainability; and Prof. Edward Jobson, Environmental Director, Volvo Bus Corporation. 

November 24, 2015

For further information, please contact.

Sridhar Chari,

Gargi Prasad,
Tel: +91 96201 15001,